Picture
Riley, age 2, using a Beco with Wren in a front carry.
This week, October 8-14 2012, is International Babywearing Week!  Check out Babywearing International for ideas to celebrate this week, how to find a group near you, or for more resources on babywearing.  Check out their short video introduction to babywearing here.

I learned to carry Riley when he was just a few days old!  We tried out a pouch sling and a ring sling (click here to learn about the different types of carriers!).  Then, as I got a little more comfortable, we started using the Moby wrap on a regular basis.  Henry also approved of the Moby and wore Riley quite often.  It was our go-to way of getting a sleepy baby to sleep!  When Riley was around 5 months old, I decided I wanted a soft structured carrier.  I tried out the Beco & Ergo each for one week and decided that the Ergo Baby Carrier was the best choice for our family.  Everyone loved it!  Riley soon enjoyed riding around on our backs while we enjoyed the freedom of carrying our baby on our back!  I still used the ring sling & pouch quite often, but preferred the Ergo for longer time periods due to it's comfort.  Later, I decided to save up enough money and bought a used woven wrap.  I was in love! However, Riley was nearly 2 and very independent - he wanted nothing to do with riding around on mama's back anymore.  Now Riley is 3 and still asks to be carried on my back from time to time so I keep the Ergo in the car, just in case.
Picture
Riley, 2 months, in a Moby front carry with Mama & Daddy.
Picture
Riley, 3 months, trying out a back carry (I think rucksack carry) in the Moby wrap.
Picture
Riley, 10 months, in the Ergo in a back carry.



Leave a Reply.