I have always enjoyed ballroom dancing, going for hikes, riding my bicycle, swimming, doing yoga, ultimate frisbee and various other types of fun exercises.  Living in Houston has really changed my ways, however, and not for the good!  It is so hot and humid here that I am in no mood to go outdoors to enjoy my favorite activities.  So, I am trying really hard to get into working out indoors.  

We are members of the YMCA and love taking Riley there for swim lessons in the summertime and were really happy when he started enjoying going to the day care they provide.  I like going to the classes but am really bad at being committed to a schedule, which means I don't work out nearly enough.  Occasionally I would workout on the elliptical/stair stepper hybrid machine for 20-30 mins, but it is not my favorite type of workout. Sometimes I would go to the yoga classes, and then I discovered Nia and really started to enjoy working out again.

What is Nia?  It is a beautiful dance workout that also involves martial arts & yoga.  It is an expressive workout that stimulates your mind, rejuvenates the soul, and promotes healing for your entire body.  It is a low-impact workout that allows you to choose your level, from one to three, based on your own body's abilities.  Most days I would push myself for level three, working up a sweat and having sore muscles the next day.  Other times I would enjoy a more relaxed level one, letting the class offer my body & mind a chance to enjoy the music and work on flexibility and reconnecting with who I am.  It is a great source for creative outlet and imagination, encouraging you to find your own dance style based on the simple moves offered by our amazing instructor.

Then, I started going to Zumba, a high-paced Latin dance workout, which fit into my schedule better.  This week, I was surprised to find out that my class has morphed into a new class, one that I think will actually help me to be committed to a regular workout routine: Z-BellyBolli.

What in the world is Z-BellyBolli?  Honestly, I'm still not entirely sure I know what it is! I can tell you this: it is fun, it kicks my butt, and I leave class feeling really good!!  I asked the instructor if she could offer more information on the class and this is what she gave me:
Release your "inner Shakira"
Shimmy and Shake the pounds away
Benefit from the most targeted arm and ab-work you can get while having fun!
Not only will you feel sexy, sassy, & spicy, but it "will improve your posture, your flexibility, your endurance and of course your sex appeal and confidence!"  This class incoporates Zumba, Belly dancing, and Bollywood dancing.  And my favorite part - we are encouraged to wear coin hip belts to add to the excitement!  I am loving it!  I am convinced that after a few months of this class, I will be on the right track for a healthier, happier me.
Picture
My hip scarf




Leave a Reply.